Guitar Week 5 “Say You Won’t Let Go”

This is just going to be a short blog post for the week because I have not yet figured out how to play this song, it is taking a lot of work!  “Say You Won’t Let Go” by James Arthur is a beautiful song that has both a strumming pattern and a picking pattern.  I thought it would be good to challenge myself to learn the picking along with the strumming.  However I am struggling a lot because my go to tutorial girl Ellen over at for3v3rfaithful uses really complicated chords to pick along with.  Whereas the chords listed on Ultimate Guitar Tabs are much easier, but I’m not sure how to pick it.  Right now I am working on following the video to learn how to pick, then switching to the easy chords for the rest of the song.  I’m not sure if that will sound okay, but I’m giving it a shot!

Ultimate Guitar Tabs lists the chords G, D, Em, C.  For3v3rfaithful on the other hand uses, G, Gsus2/F#, Em7, C and Dsus4.

I am working hard on this song and will hopefully have a video next week playing it, but we shall see!

Stay Tuned! 🙂

Leave a comment